What Are The Arizona Laws Regarding Possession of Drugs?

If you have been charged with possessing drugs in Arizona, you could face serious penalties. In the state, you cannot knowingly use or possess any illegal drugs. If you have been found while having drugs located near you, on your being or while being under the influence, you are most likely facing felony drug possession charges. The state has very precise drugs laws, that list the specific kinds and quantities of drugs that are prohibited, as well as the punishment that could be faced by an individual who is charged with violating these laws. Here are some of the clear-cut Arizona laws regarding possession of drugs that are specifically detailed in the A.R.S. Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.), Title 13, Chapter 34, cover the state’s drug possession laws. These laws detail the different charges and the various penalties that you might face if convicted of any drug possession crimes in the state.

Your charges and penalties can be impacted by any previous drug convictions, your criminal history, the kind of drug, and the weight or number of drugs in your possession. Here are some of the different drug charges you can be charged with and the different kinds of drugs that are illegal in the State of Arizona along with the possible penalties.

  • If you are charged with having a dangerous drug, it is a Class 4 felony. If you have not previously been convicted of a felony and the drug in your possession was not meth or some other kind of amphetamine, you might be able to have it reduced to a Class 1 misdemeanor. You will face a fine of at least $2,000 or three times the substance value, whichever is a greater value. You can face anywhere from no jail time to a year in jail if you have no prior conviction and up to 3 3/4 years in prison if you have been previously convicted.
  • If your charges are for a narcotic, specifically cocaine, it could be reduced to a Class 1 misdemeanor if there are no previous felony convictions. If you have previous felony convictions, it would be a Class 4 felony. You are facing a fine of three times the substance’s value or $2,000, whichever is more. If you have no prior convictions, you could spend no time in jail or up to a year in there or as long as 15 years in prison if you have two previous convictions.
  • For marijuana possession of fewer than two pounds, you are facing a felony charge. If the drugs are for personal use, it is a Class 6 felony but can be reduced to a misdemeanor. If you personally produced the marijuana, you are facing a Class 5 felony. If you have the marijuana for resale it is a Class 4 felony.

Arizona laws regarding possession of drugsAn Arizona drug possession attorney can help you fight the charges. Some successful defenses used in drug possession cases have included:

  • Illegal Search
  • Valid Prescription
  • Lack of Knowledge or Awareness
  • Entrapment
  • Religious Purposes and Usage

Other defenses might also be available depending on your situation. Arizona laws regarding possession of drugs are always subject to change. You need to verify the laws by consulting with an Arizona criminal defense lawyer. You should schedule your case evaluation today. With the help of a lawyer, you might be able to get your charges reduced or your case dismissed. You might even prove victorious after a trial. Because of the seriousness of such crimes and the severity of the penalties, you need to enlist the help of an Arizona criminal law attorney as quickly as possible so he or she can start building your defense.