Arizona DUI Laws

arizona dui lawsArizona is a no-tolerance state, meaning it is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs to drive a vehicle.  When you apply for a driver’s license in Arizona, you also give consent to test for a blood alcohol concentration (BADC) upon arrest.  Arizona is unique in this aspect as not many states impose this type of law.  These types of laws are called implied consent law.

Arizona imposes strict penalties for DUIs.  If your BADC reads 0.08 percent or more, or 0.04 in a commercial vehicle requiring a commercial driver license, the driver will lose their driving privileges. To get driving privileges reinstated, the driver will have to complete alcohol or drug screening before obtaining a restricted license or reinstatement of a regular license.

What If Your BAC is Below the Legal Limit?

Even if a driver tests under a 0.08, Arizona law still allows a driver to be charged with a DUI.  If you are under the age of 21 and test for any amount of alcohol in Arizona, your license may also be suspended.

If you refuse to take a BADC, Arizona automatically suspends your license for a period of 12 months or 24 months if you refuse a second time within 84 months.

In Arizona, a first DUI offenses imposes a penalty of less than 10 consecutive days and fined not less than $1,250 fine.  Alcohol or drug education and screening is required.  Arizona also imposes a ignition interlock on a car and mandatory community service.  A second or subsequent offense imposes jail time of not less than 90 days and a fine not less than $3,000.  A drivers license will be revoked for 12 months. Alcohol or drug education and screening will be required, along with a ignition interlock device and mandatory community service.

Click here for more information on DUI in Arizona.

What is an Extreme DUI in Arizona?

Arizona law also provides for an “extreme” DUI offense, which is applied to a person with a person who scores a 0.15 or higher alcohol concentration on a BADC.  A first extreme DUI offense imposes a jail sentence of not less than 30 consecutive days.  This sentence does not allow for probation or suspended or lessened sentence.  IT carries a fine of not less than $2,500.  Alcohol and drug screening and education is required along with community service and ignition interlock device on the vehicle.   A second or subsequent offense that is classified as an extreme DUI imposes a jail sentence of not less than 120 days.  A fine is imposed of not less than $3,250.  The driver license will be revoked for a year.  Alcohol and drug screening and education is required along with community service and an ignition interlock device.

Arizona law also imposes higher fines and jail sentences if the DUI is considered aggravated.  An aggravated DUI will be applied to a person who commits a DUI while having a suspended, revoked, or canceled license.  It will also apply to a person who commits a third DUI in 84 months or commits a DUI while a person under 15 in the vehicle.  Lastly, an aggravated DUI will also be imposed for a person who commits a DUI or refuses to take a BADC while under an ignition interlock device.  If sentenced to an aggravated DUI, a person will be sentenced to prison for not more than two years and the driver license will be revoked for one year.  Alcohol and drug screening and education will be required, along with a ignition interlock device and community service.

Arizona imposes stringent penalties and fines for DUI offenses.  Being convicted of a DUI only opens a person up to more harsher penalties and can cause significant monetary penalties.