What Are the Arizona Drug Possession Laws?

Arizona has strict laws regarding drug possession. If knowingly possess or use illegal drugs, you will face the consequences. If you are found while under the influence of drugs or you have drugs in your possession or near you, you will most likely face felony drug possession charges. Arizona drug possession laws are very precise and detailed. State laws specifically list the kinds of drugs and the quantities of them that are prohibited along with the punishment that one can face for those specific charges. The penalties for drug possession can vary and are dependent on the kind of drugs or substances in possession, the quantity of drugs in possession, previous criminal history, and whether your charges are simple possession, which is for personal use, or possession with the intent to sale.

Arizona Drug Possession Laws Overview

Arizona drug laws are found in Arizona Revised Statutes Title 13, Chapter 34, Sections 3401 – 3421. Here are some summaries of the different charges that might be faced along with the penalties that could be faced.

  • Dangerous Drug – If you are charged with having a dangerous drug, it is a Class 4 felony. If you have no prior felony convictions and the drug in your possession was not meth or any kind of amphetamine, there is the possibility it could be reduced to a Class 1 misdemeanor. You will face a fine of at least $2,000 or three times the value of the drugs in your possession, whichever is the greater amount. With no prior convictions, you will face from none to one-year of jailtime, which could increase to up to 3.75 years in prison if you have prior convictions.
  • Narcotics – Having narcotics in your possession is a Class 4 felony, and if you have no prior convictions, charges might be reduced to a Class 1 misdemeanor. You will face a fine of no less than $2,000 or three times the value of the drugs in your possession, whichever is greater. You could face anywhere from no jail time to a year in jail if you have no prior convictions, but if you have two prior convictions, you could face up to 15 years imprisonment.
  • Marijuana – If you have been caught with less than two pounds of marijuana, you will be facing a Class 6 felony if it is determined it was for personal use, but it can be reduced to a misdemeanor. If you produced the marijuana yourself, you will be facing a Class 5 felony charge. If the marijuana in your possession is for resale, you will be facing a Class 4 felony charge. You will face a fine of no less than $2,000 or three times the value of the marijuana in your possession, whichever is the higher amount. If you have no prior convictions, you might have anywhere from no jail time to up to a year in jail. You could face 3.75 years in jail if you have prior convictions.

How Can A Criminal Attorney Help Defend Me of Arizona Drugs Charges?

arizona drug possession lawsIf you are facing Arizona drug charges, you should consult with a criminal defense attorney. Your attorney will investigate your situation and help you determine the best way to face your charges. Just because you have been charged with drug possession doesn’t mean you are guilty. There are several defenses you might be able to pursue. Here are some effective defenses:

  • Entrapment
  • Valid prescription
  • Religious reasons
  • Illegal Search
  • Lack of Knowledge

Arizona drug charges are serious and could haunt you the rest of your life. Make sure you get legal representation knowledgeable about Arizona drug possession laws.