DUI Under 21 Consequences in Arizona

dui under 21 consequences

DUI Under 21 Consequences in Arizona

dui under 21 consequencesThe state of Arizona has zero-tolerance when it comes to underage drinking. If anyone who is under the age of 21 is caught driving while under the influence of even a drop of alcohol that registers on a breathalyzer test, the consequences could be earth-shattering.

Anatomy of a Baby DUI

An underaged DUI in the state of Arizona is classified as a class 2 misdemeanor. This can be a jail sentence of up to 6 months and a maximum fine of $750. The baby DUI is different than that of an adult DUI. The baby DUI does not carry mandatory jail sentences or fines.

The big difference for underage drivers who receive a DUI is that their license gets permanently suspended for two years. Two years without a license for someone under the age of 21 can be worse than having to spend time in jail.

An underage driver could possibly be convicted of a standard DUI if they have a blood alcohol content of at least .08%, which is the legal limit. If caught with a BAC that high they will have to spend 24 hours in jail and be subject to all the other penalties that come with a standard DUI.

During a license suspension, the judge could possibly allow an underaged motorist who has had a DUI to have restricted driving privileges. This only would be to school, home, and work. The installation of an ignition interlock device is necessary. If they disobey this temporary driving privilege the court could fully suspend the license.

Sadly, drinking and driving with the underaged population doesn’t always stop with just alcohol. A lot of times other criminal acts accompany the DUI. Charges like possession of alcohol by a minor, fake IDs, traffic violations, possible identity theft, and refusing arrest or to disclose their real name when arrested.

The important thing for these underaged drivers to understand is that if they do drink and they do drive when they get caught, they need to make sure that they are obeying the officer that pulls them over. By not listening they could end up in even more trouble with harsher consequences.

Standard DUI

As a driver under the age of 21, the idea of getting arrested for a standard DUI can be a scary situation. This means that the amount of alcohol in your system registered a .08% blood alcohol content.

The typical first DUI offense can bring forth fines, fees, suspended license, ignition interlock device, counseling for DUI, jail time that could be up to 10 days, community service, and probation.

The ignition interlock device is a device that is installed in your car and any time you want it to start you have to blow into it and prove that you have no alcohol in your system. Once you have proven this, the car will start. These devices are also fitted with real-time data feeds that can let the monitors know if you fail the test, go somewhere you aren’t supposed to go or try to tamper with the device.

If you get pulled over after leaving a party or a dinner with friends, make sure you hire a lawyer that can help you through your DUI. If you are an underaged driver it is extremely important that you talk to an Arizona DUI lawyer who specializes in DUI defenses.

Find out about robbery and aggravated robbery in Arizona.

Leave A Reply