What Are The Penalties For DUI In Arizona?

If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Arizona, it is not a matter that should be taken lightly. Arizona law allows for strict penalties for drivers who are convicted of DUI. DUI of drugs or alcohol is a serious matter that can lead to life-altering injuries or loss of life. Because of the damage that can result from DUI, the law allows for very strict penalties for DUI in Arizona from the courts as well as from the Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division.

The penalties that you will face for DUI are dependent on the circumstances surrounding your charges as well as your past driving record. Those convicted usually face jail time, fines, the suspension or revocation of their driver’s license, and required completion of a drug or alcohol addiction treatment program. Here are a few guidelines about DUI in Arizona:

Standard DUIs

To be charged with a standard DUI, you have to have been stopped for operating a vehicle while you have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08% or higher or at .04% or higher if operating a vehicle that is classified as commercial. If you are not yet 21 years of age, which is the legal age to consume alcohol, you will face charges of DUI for having a BAC of any percentage.

The penalty for a first offense standard DUI can be up to 10 days in jail, $1,250 fine , community service, and an interlock requirement on the ignition of every vehicle that you drive in addition to the mandatory attendance then completion of a drug and alcohol education, screening, and treatment program. For second offense or additional offenses, the penalty calls for jail time of at least 90 days, a $3,000 fine, 12-month revocation of driver’s license, community service, an interlock device for the ignition of every vehicle that you drive, and the compulsory completion of a drug and alcohol screening, education, and treatment program.

Extreme DUIs

You will face charges of an extreme DUI if you are driving with a higher BAC. The penalties for DUI in Arizona with a BAC of .15% or higher are much greater. The first offense leads to 30 days in jail, a $2,500 fine, community service, an ignition interlock device on every vehicle you drive, and the required completion of a drug and alcohol education, screening, and treatment program. Second or subsequent offenses call for a minimum of 120 days in jail, a $3,250 fine or more, 12-month driver’s license revocation, an ignition interlock device on any vehicles operated, community service, and the mandatory completion of alcohol and drug education, screening, and treatment program.

Aggravated DUI

Aggravated DUI charges are faced by an individual who is driving with a BAC over the legal limits and has a driver’s license that is currently suspended, revoked, or cancelled; if it is the third offense DUI within an 84-month time frame; or you have committed DUI while driving with a passenger younger than 15 years of age.

penalties for dui in arizonaAfter conviction of an aggravated DUI in Arizona, you face the strictest penalties. This conviction can require a two-year prison sentence, a one-year revocation of your driver’s license, community service, an ignition interlock device for all the vehicles that you operate, and mandatory attendance and completion of a drug and alcohol education, screening, and treatment program.

Your penalties can vary from the standard depending on your DUI circumstances and your exact BAC at the time you were charged. Just because you have been charged with DUI does not mean you are guilty as charged. Consult with an Arizona DUI attorney before going to court to face the charges.