Find Out About Robert and Aggravated Robbery Arizona

aggravated robbery arizonaThere is a thin line between the charges of robbery and aggravated robbery in the state of Arizona.

ROBBERY A.R.S. 13-1902

When a person commits a robbery, they are taking property that does not belong to them. This is most generally done against the other person’s will or without their knowledge. It is also considered robbery if the defendant uses coercion techniques to make a person surrender their property.

In terms of general robbery convictions, there is no actual bodily harm done during the act of the actual theft.

PENALTIES FOR ROBBERY IN ARIZONA

Robbery is a Class 4 felony.

The first time offender will receive 1 to 3.75 years in prison. Fines may be sanctioned and if they are, they can range from $750 to $150,000. As a first time offender, there is a chance that the defendant will be eligible for probation.

The second-time offender will spend 2.25 to 7.5 years in prison. Fines may be sanctioned and if they are, they can range from $750 to $150,000. As a second-time offender, probation is not an option.

The third time offender will spend 6 to 15 years in prison. Fines may be sanctioned and if they are, they can range from $750 to $150,000. As a third time offender, probation is not an option.

AGGRAVATED ROBBERY A.R.S. 13-1903

When a person commits aggravated robbery, they are not only taking someone else’s property either against the will of the owner or without their knowledge, but they are doing it with an accomplice, with a weapon, or using unnecessary force.

Armed robbery also falls into the category of aggravated robbery.

PENALTIES FOR AGGRAVATED ROBBERY IN ARIZONA

Aggravated robbery is a Class 3 felony.

The first time offender convicted of aggravated robbery will receive 2 to 8.75 years in prison. Fines may be sanctioned and if they are, they can range from $750 to $150,000. As a first time offender, probation is a possibility.

The second-time offender convicted of aggravated robbery will spend 2.25 to 7 years in prison. Fines may be sanctioned and if they are, they can range from $750 to $150,000. Unfortunately, second-time offenders are not eligible for probation.

The third time offender convicted of aggravated robbery will be sentenced to 6 to 15 years in prison. Fines may be sanctioned and if they are, they can range from $750 to $150,000. As with the second time offense, there is no possibility for probation eligibility.

Click here to find out about the AZ man charged with a Class 6 felony after arrest for theft.

THE THIN LINE

The statement about there being a thin line between robbery and aggravated robbery was not an exaggeration. All it takes is inviting a friend along when you decide to commit a theft and you just went from a minimum prison sentence of 1 year to 2 years, and that is if you haven’t committed a robbery before.

The same applies to the line between robbery and armed robbery. You do not have to physically fire the weapon in order for it to be charged as aggravated. Simply having the weapon out implies that it is an aggravated circumstance.

It is important to know the fine print when toeing the line of the law.