What is The Punishment for Theft in Arizona?
Just like in other states, Arizona classifies theft offenses based on the value of the stolen property or services (in some cases, it can be classified based on the type of stolen property regardless of its value). Arizona law divides theft offenses into six offense levels; they range from a class 1 misdemeanor to a class 2 felony.
Felony sentencing – Arizona law has different sentencing ranges based on the offender’s felony record.
Felony probation – In some cases, the judge orders a sentence but may suspend it and instead place the defendant on probation. If the defendant complies with the probation terms, they might avoid jail time or serve shorter jail time. The judge can deny probation and send the defendant to prison for violating the probation terms.
Felony fines and restitution – The highest fine amount for any felony in Arizona is $150,000. The court may order that all or a part of the fine will be paid as restitution to the victim to compensate for their losses.
Class 2 Felony Theft
Theft of property or services with a value of $25,000 or higher is considered a class 2 felony under Arizona law. A conviction for a class 2 felony brings a five-year presumptive sentence for a first-time offender and a maximum sentence of 35 years. If the value of the stolen amount is higher than $100,000, the person is ineligible for probation, suspended sentence, pardon, or early release.
Class 3 Felony Theft
Theft of property or services with a value of higher than $4,000 but less than $25,000 is a class 3 felony in Arizona. The presumptive sentence for a first-time felon is 3,5 years. The maximum sentence is 25 years.
Class 4 Felony Theft
If you steal property or services with a value of more than $3,000 but less than $4,000 it is considered a class 4 felony. It’s also considered a class 4 felony if you steal a vehicle engine or transmission, no matter its value. A class 4 felony in Arizona brings a presumptive sentence of 2,5 years for a first felony and a maximum sentence of 15 years.
Class 5 Felony Theft
A class 5 felony is considered when a person steals property or services valued at more than $2,000 but less than $3,000. A person convicted of a class 5 felony might get a presumptive sentence of 1,5 years for a first-time offense and a maximum sentence of seven and a half years.
Class 6 Felony Theft
If you steal property or services valued at a $1,000 or more but less than $2,000, the offense is a class 6 felony. It’s also considered a class 6 felony if you steal a firearm or animal for purposes of fighting the animal, even if the value is less than $1,000. A class 6 felony brings a presumptive sentence of one year for a first-time offender and a maximum sentence of five years and nine months.
If you’re facing any of these charges, call our office and allow our team to help you with your case.